Arwen’s Blog

The Bulanglang Chronicles

Posted on: February 22, 2007

Today our “baon” for lunch is Bulanglang, it is a native dish originating from the Tagalog region. It is a clear soup with mixed vegetables; kalabasa(pumpkin), green papaya, tomatoes, okra, patani beans, malunggay leaves. You can add pretty much your other favorite vegetable, the secret here is how you cook it, anyway. To cook Bulanglang, slice up all the vegetables into medium strips,  put everything in a soup casserole and boil, season with salt. Simmer for a few minutes to allow vegetables to cook… and that’s it.

THE WORKS:

I guess my husband wanted to impress me, we arrived home last night around 8:30, we ate, watched TV, then he decided to cook one of my favorite vegetable dish, Bulanglang. So he went ahead and prepared the ingredients, but I was too sleepy to watch him cook, so I put Sam to sleep or me to sleep. He said this morning that he got his cooking done around 11 PM already.

THE TASTE TEST:

When I woke up this morning, I found the steaming hot pot of my hubby’s Bulanglang. The first-time cook that he is, he warned me that the vegetables are over-cooked, the soup is too bland, etc. The expert cook that I am, I took my first sip and I what can I say, what he said is true. Hehe. I got the salt and added a dash or two into the pot, tasted the soup again and viola! It’s now better; as for the vegetables, forgivable, besides, Sam will love the texture since the vegetables are soft and mushy.

THE SWEET ENDING: 

As we said good bye to Sam and Lyn and enjoying the morning pollution brought by the tricycle ride, I whispered to him, “Honey, I’m giving you 200%.”. He said, “200? For what?” And I replied, “That’s your score for cooking Bulanglang, Thank you very much” and I gave him a hug. Honey thank you for your effort, I know I sounded very critic-ish with you this morning, but truly, I appreciate what you did, staying up late to cook not just for me but for our family. Keep it up! I know next when you attempt to try cooking Bulanglang again, you’ll do better, you are a fast learner. That will be part 2 of our Bulanglang Chronicles. I love you!!!

P.S.
The SugarPlumFairy just might be back again to one of the things that she loves doing… Blogging! So watch out! Ciao!

Leave a Reply

  • None
